Brent, Rick Stockstill garner TSWA college football awards

stockstill, rick (5).JPG

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Middle Tennessee’s Brent and Rick Stockstill were voted Football Player and Coach of the Year, as announced this week by the Tennessee Sports Writers Association. The duo will be honored during the annual TSWA Hall of Fame dinner set for July 11 at Cumberland University in Lebanon, Tenn.

Rick Stockstill earned Coach of the Year accolades, leading the Blue Raiders to their first Conference USA East Division title and a spot in the C-USA championship game. Middle Tennessee played in the New Orleans Bowl, the team’s school-record fourth straight bowl appearance and fifth in the last six years.

The Blue Raiders ended the season 8-6 overall, including losses to Vanderbilt, Georgia, Kentucky and Appalachian State.

stockstill, brent (2).JPG

Brent Stockstill garnered Conference USA MVP and First Team All-C-USA honors, finishing his senior season ranked third nationally in completion percentage, ninth in completions per game, 13th in touchdown passes and 15th in passing yards. He threw for 3,544 yards with 29 touchdowns while completing 70.3 percent of his throws, posting five 300-yard passing contests.

He was named a semifinalist for the Jason Witten Collegiate Man of the Year and the William V. Campbell Trophy award. Brent Stockstill was recognized as the Conference USA Offensive Player of the Week three times during the season as well as the TSWA Offensive Player of the Week three times.